{ Entertaining/Food } … the fabulous neon rainbow cake.

So, this cake found on the Whisk Kid blog (with instructions) was the inspiration for my daughter’s birthday cake.  When I first saw it online, I thought baking the separate layers and mixing up the colors would be the tricky part.

We started with the following (I chose to go the quick and easy box method way).

Then, we poured equal amounts into 8 bowls and added the funky neon food coloring (not shown).  I wish I had more available colors of food coloring though, and will definitely acquire some next time.  You then put that batter into individual pans.  I did 8.

We ended up baking them for 15 minutes, which was about 10 minutes less than the normal recipe called for.

(Sorry I didn’t take any pix of building the cake…it was a bit messy). Here is where the cake got difficult I thought.  I didn’t spend enough time researching before I jumped into this and I found out one tip too late.  When the cake bakes, it naturally gets a bit mounded on the top.  The bottom will be perfectly flat, but you need to try to slice the mounded portion off each layer of your cake so that both sides are flat.  I didn’t know this, and the result is a lopsided cake.  You don’t need to worry that the top of the cake is no longer smooth because the icing will be on top of it.   We used a cream cheese frosting, … but next time I think I will go with a buttercream, because there is a bit of a tartness to cream cheese frosting that gets a bit overwhelming when you have soooo much of it.

The next tricky part I thought was frosting the sides and tops.  I can tell if you do it enough, you probably can get the technique down, but… it was definitely a learning experiencing on this cake.

The fun thing about the rainbow cake I think is that from the outside, … no one has any idea the craziness that hides beneath the frosting.

In my case, it just looked like a poorly done homemade cake!  I was so excited to find this perfect glass cake stand that morning at Goodwill (thrifting post coming soon).  It really helped to make my cake look fancier and gave me space to do the blue frosting at the bottom.  That is my daughter cutting into the cake … she still didn’t know what kind it was.  Nice hefty piece she was dishing out.

So, even though this cake looks a bit daunting to make, I want to encourage everyone to try it once.  It was a lot of fun to make, and even yummier to eat.  Next, time I think I want to try more typical rainbow colors, but this was a unique version.

2 thoughts on “{ Entertaining/Food } … the fabulous neon rainbow cake.”

Leave a Reply

